Australasia's home for timber news and information

Richard Stanton award for forestry excellence is open

Responsible Wood is calling for nominations for this year’s coveted Richard Stanton Memorial Award for Excellence in Forest Management or Chain of Custody. This is the seventh year of the award which pays tribute to a man who devoted his life to sustainable forest management in Australia and internationally. Source: Timberbiz

Richard Stanton was CEO and national secretary of Australian Forestry Standard Ltd (now Responsible Wood) and held key roles with the Australian Plantation Products and Paper Industry Council, the Australian Paper Industry Council, Plantation Timber Association of Australia, National Association of Forest Industries, and State Forests NSW.

Nominations for the award are open to individuals who have contributed significantly to either forest management or chain-of-custody certification under the Responsible Wood certification program.

The award nominees will be those who have contributed to sustainable forest management under AS4708 or chain of custody under AS4707.

The award is open to, but not restricted to, forest owners and managers; chain-of-custody certificate holders; staff of certification bodies; forest scientists and researchers; and designers of products manufactured from sustainable timber.

The award also carries a $2000 bursary prize.

Applicants for the award will have demonstrated excellence in the following areas:

  • A significant and valuable contribution to Sustainability.
  • Innovation, Improvement or Excellence in Forest Management or Chain of Custody Certification.
  • A strong commitment to the Responsible Wood Certification Scheme and Sustainable Forest Management.
  • Innovation and Improvement in the promotion and marketing of Responsible Wood Certified Products

The selection of the successful applicant will be made by the Responsible Wood Marketing Committee and announced at the Annual General Meeting later this year.

Nominations for the award close Friday 5pm (AEST) 1 October 2021.

Nominations can be forwarded to: Responsible Wood, PO Box 786, New Farm, Qld 4005. Email [email protected]