Australasia's home for timber news and information

More Forestry Australia Fellows than ever before

The largest ever cohort of forestry experts have been awarded prestigious Forestry Australia Fellow status at a special ceremony at the 2023 ANZIF conference on the Gold Coast. Source: Timberbiz

Forestry Australia CEO Jacquie Martin said the Merit Awards Committee was thrilled with the calibre of forest sector leaders who were nominated for the award.

“A Forestry Australia Fellow is an honour bestowed on exceptional individuals who have made an indelible contribution to forestry,” Ms Martin said.

“It is an illustrious achievement that has only been awarded to 84 Australians since the first Fellow was inducted in 1969.

“This year, the Merit Awards Committee voted to select a record number of Fellows, with nine outstanding individuals to receive the honour.

“This record number of recipients is a sign of the growing strength of Australia’s sustainable forestry sector, and the incredible forest scientists, managers and growers involved.

“I congratulate each of the recipients on receiving this honour and thank them on behalf of all Forestry Australia members for their commitment and contribution to sustainable forestry.

“The nine new Fellows join a list of only 49 living Fellows and follow in the footsteps of only 84 recipients in just over 50 years.”

The 2023 Forestry Australia Fellows are:

  • Bob Gordon, TAS
  • Dr Kevin Harding, QLD
  • Dr Lachie McCaw, WA
  • Dr Michelle Freeman, VIC
  • Dr Stuart Davey, ACT
  • Ruth Ryan, VIC
  • Penny Wells, TAS
  • Peter Fagg, VIC
  • Rob de Fegely, NSW