Australasia's home for timber news and information

World Architecture Festival entries open for 2019

International House Sydney Tzannes and Lendlease

For the second time, PEFC is sponsoring the World Architecture Festival (WAF) Best Use of Certified Timber Prize that rewards architects and project teams for their use of certified timber as a main construction material for buildings outstanding in sustainability, innovation, quality or aesthetics. Source: Timberbiz

“We sponsored the prize for the first time last year, and were very pleased with the quality and diversity of the entries,” said Fabienne Sinclair, Head of Marketing at PEFC International. “We are excited to see what projects will be submitted this year.”

Forty architects from 20 countries entered their projects into the prize in 2018. After a live presentation of the nine shortlisted projects, a jury of three experts, including architect Mark Thomson, chose International House in Sydney, designed by Tzannes and developed by Lend Lease, as the winner.

With its seven floors, International House is the world’s tallest all commercial building constructed fully from engineered timber. It catches the eye with its clear glass façade and, with its very low carbon outcome, sets new standards in sustainable construction.

All projects entered for any of the 17 ‘Completed Buildings’ award categories are eligible for the Best Use of Certified Timber Prize and you do that by checking a box titled “Please consider me for Best Use of Certified Timber Prize” under “Enter into additional WAF Prizes”.

The use of certified wood products is a precondition for entering and during the submission process, you will be asked to provide details on the percentage of certified material used on your project.

To get started, head to the WAF website (

The 12th World Architecture Festival will take place in Amsterdam from 4-6 December 2019. After hearing presentations of the 10 best entries in the morning of Friday 6 December, the jury will announce the winner at a dinner in the evening.

The deadline for entry is 3 May 2019.