Australasia's home for timber news and information

WoodWorks Wood Design Awards

Wood building design is dynamic and evolving across the US as more developers and design teams seek carbon-friendly structural solutions that are also beautiful and cost effective. WoodWorks will recognize the best of these projects at its 14th annual Wood Design Awards. Source: Timberbiz

“Wood design awards are an opportunity to recognize building designers who emphasize innovation and creativity alongside quality,” said WoodWorks President and CEO, Jennifer Cover. “There’s been a groundswell of innovation in this country. Progressive design teams are expressing wood structure in remarkable ways, at many scales, across building types, using both mass timber and traditional wood framing. Our award program is a way to celebrate their achievements.”

In addition to wood’s sustainability and light carbon footprint, many design teams are motivated by the aesthetic of exposed wood structure, which creates value in terms of biophilia, healthy indoor environments, and the potential for portfolio distinction in a highly competitive market.

Categories for WoodWorks’ 2021 Wood Design Awards include:

  • Multi-Family Wood Design
  • Commercial Wood Design – Low-Rise
  • Commercial Wood Design – Mid-Rise
  • Wood in Schools
  • Institutional Wood Design
  • Green Building with Wood
  • Beauty of Wood
  • Wood in Government Buildings
  • Durable & Adaptable Wood Structures

Nominations will be judged by an independent jury of design and building professionals, who will also select up to 10 projects to receive regional excellence awards.

Special consideration will be given to recently completed buildings, projects that utilize wood as a dominant structural element, and designs that exemplify new opportunities for wood construction.

There is no cost to nominate a project and multiple submissions are encouraged. To be eligible, projects and nominated firms must be located in the US and projects must be fully constructed by September 30, 2020. With the exception of the Durability & Adaptability of Wood Structures category, awards apply to new construction only, which includes significant additions. Structures other than buildings are not eligible.