Australasia's home for timber news and information


Australian pulp and paper companies, unions, and research organisations have come together to secure a sustainable future for the pulp and paper industry.

“The work of the Pulp and Paper Industry Innovation Council will help the Government ensure Australia’s pulp and paper industry is competitive and prosperous,” Innovation, Industry, Science and Research Minister, Senator Kim Carr, said.

This work will be critical to attract new value adding investment and support the industry as it responds to the ongoing challenge of environmental sustainability.

“In April, I announced that Mr Stephen Payne, Head of the Manufacturing Division in my Department would Chair the Council,” Senator Carr said.

“This follows his role as Chair of the Pulp and Paper Industry Strategy Group.

“I have appointed Mr Jim Henneberry, Chief Executive Officer of Australian Paper, and Mr Michael O’Connor, National Secretary of Forestry and Furnishing Products at the CFMEU to support Mr Payne as Deputy Chairs.”

The formation of the Council is part of the Government’s response to the Pulp and Paper Industry Strategy Group’s Final Report.

The Council will continue the successful work of the Strategy Group, which cultivated important links between firms, unions, the research community and governments.

“I have asked the Council to develop terms of reference for an appropriately funded Biorefinery Research Institute,” Senator Carr said.

“This institute will focus its R&D effort on fibre-based biofuels and other bioproducts.

“I have also asked that the Council identify opportunities in water and energy efficiency, and devise ways to maximise Australia’s capacities in fibre production, product innovation and renewable energy.”

A list of Council members is attached.

Pulp and Paper Industry Innovation Council


Mr Stephen Payne Head of Division, Manufacturing,
Department of Industry, Innovation, Science and Research


Mr Jim Henneberry Chief Executive Officer, Australian Paper

Mr Michael O’Connor National Secretary, Forestry and Furnishing Products Division, Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union (CFMEU)


Ms Lorraine Cassin National Secretary, Printing Division
Australian Manufacturing Workers’ Union (AMWU)

Mr Sonny Coleiro Group General Manager, Amcor Australia

Mr Stephen Deane Operations Director, Pulp & Paper,
Pratt Holdings Pty Ltd (Visy)

Mr Milo Foster Vice President, Family Care-South Asia,
Kimberly-Clark Australia

Professor Gil Garnier Director, Australian Pulp and Paper Institute

Dr Bill Hurditch Principal and Director, The Fifth Estate Consultancy Pty Ltd

Mr Greg L’Estrange Chief Executive Officer, Gunns Limited

Mr Don Matthews Chief Executive Officer, Protavia Pty Ltd

Mr Alex Millar Federal Secretary, Pulp and Paper Workers’ Branch, Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union (CFMEU)

Ms Linda Sewell Chief Executive Officer, Hancock Victorian Plantations

Dr Bob Smith Member, Board of Directors, VicForests

Mr Paul Thompson President, SCA Hygiene Australasia

Dr Nafty Vanderhoek Group Leader, Advanced Biopolymers, CSIRO Materials Science and Engineering

Mr Andrew Leighton Regional President, Norske Skog Australasia